“Get busy living or get busy dying”

This is a phrase from a movie in the early 90’s called “Shawshank Redemption”.  It has been a statement that has stuck in my head for years.  The movie was about a young man who was accused of a double murder and sentenced to life in prison.  He held on to the fact that he was innocent and it would be proven.  He learned about prison life the hard way, but did not let that get to him.  He found favor with the warden and guards because of his accounting skills, helped to improve the library, and encouraged other inmates to be better.  This sounds like a similar story in the bible.

Genesis 39:20 Joseph’s master took him and put him in prison,the place where the king’s prisoners were confined.But while Joseph was there in the prison,  21  the Lord was with him; he showed him kindness and granted him favor in the eyes of the prison warden.  22 So the warden put Joseph in charge of all those held in the prison, and he was made responsible for all that was done there.  23 The warden paid no attention to anything under Joseph’s care, because the Lord was with Joseph and gave him success in whatever he did.

Joseph had faith that he would be delivered, but in the mean time he lived.  He did not give up and live a life of someone who has been defeated.  The situation he was in he made the best of it.  I know so many people that are in situations that they have allowed it keep them down.  They are waiting for that one special day to come and then they will be happy. They have done everything but die because they are not living in the moment they are in right now.

Some people might not like what I am about to say.  But I am going to say it because I love you enough to tell you the truth.  I also have had this revelation to myself lately so I am with you and asking God to work on me and use me right where I am.  You are being self-centered if you are waiting for that one day for everything to be perfect here on earth.  My advice to myself and you is we need to get busy living AND get busying dying.  We need to live a life full of His Spirit and we need to die to our flesh.  I love what The Message Bible says in Romans 8:12-14  So don’t you see that we don’t owe this old do-it-yourself life one red cent. There’s nothing in it for us, nothing at all. The best thing to do is give it a decent burial and get on with your new life. God’s Spirit beckons. There are things to do and places to go!

We need to let God use us right where we are.  I pray you all have the strength to trust that our Father knows what He is doing.

Heavenly Father we thank you that you see and know where we are and how we feel.  I pray that you will help me to crucify my flesh and be content in knowing you truly are working everything out for my good.  Lord please remind me when I am acting self-centered and foolish.  Help me to be the best I can right where I am.  Help me to get busy living AND dying right where I am.  In Jesus name Amen

Keeping it real as always

Michele

live

 

Leave a Reply

